Membership Information

Q1. What are the different types of membership available?

The membership types for individuals are Trade, Associate and Certified.
For institutions, the membership types are Charter Members and Corporate Members.
Please refer to the section on Membership on our website for details of the types of membership available.

Q2. Who are FPAM’s Charter Members?

Charter Members are corporate members of FPAM who contribute and support the development of the financial planning industry in Malaysia.

If you are employed by any of our Charter Members, you are entitled to the Charter Member’s employees’ rate for examination registration fees.

Q3. Can an individual apply to be a Charter Member?

No. Only institutions can apply to be Charter members

Q4. What does the Re-certification process entail?

Once certified, a CFP CERT TM practitioner is required to maintain technical competence and fulfill ethical obligations. Every years, he must complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education to keep abreast of current developments in the financial planning profession in order to better serve his clients. Two of the 20 hours are to be spent studying or discussing FPAM’s Professional Code of Ethics and Practice Standards.

In addition to the biennial continuing education requirement, every CFP practitioner must also voluntarily disclose any public, civil, criminal or disciplinary actions that may have been taken against him in the past two years as part of the continuing Re-certification process.